Club Members

Committee Members Life Members
Kym Lau (President) 1978 Fergie Kerr
Simon White (Vice President) 1978 Jacqui Kerr (Deceased)
Kim Doung (Treasurer) 1984 Pat O'Shaughnessy (Deceased)
Carol Packard (Secretary) 1984 Anne Stoneham
Don Arockiaswarmy 1988 Brian Emery (Deceased)
Kim Ly 1989 Glen McPherson
Gert Goesaert 1992 Peter Van der Lans
Leang Nguon 1996 Edna Bannister (Deceased)
Neil Philby 1998 Robert Riggs
Nathan Narayanan 2000 David Nash
  2001 Bob Salotti (Deceased)
  2002 Jeff Green
  2003 Sandy Faithfull
  2006 Sally Brauer
  2007 Jane Awwad
  2007 Carol Packard
  2007 Malcolm Wainwright
  2007 Jamie Deans
  2012 Simon White
  2014 Kym Lau

Presidents of Glenelg Badminton Club

Glenelg has had only 7 Presidents in 44 years
Fergie Kerr 1968-1973
Roy Bierton 1974
Ted Gentle 1975-1979
Adam Charlton 1980-1981
Glen McPherson 1981-1987
Robert Riggs 1988-2014
Kym Lau 2014-Present

This stable leadership has been one of the main ingredients for the club's success over the years


Important Policies

Hot Weather Policy
Information on our hot weather policy is available here
Further information on safe sporting practices in hot weather is here

Child Safe Policy
GBC have a Child Safe Officer (Nigel Isherwood) as one of our Junior coaches, and all junior coaching personnel have a clearance from the Department of Community and Social Inclusion (DCSI).
Further Information on our child safe practices are here

Member protection officer

Player code of conduct

As Glenelg Badminton Club (GBC) is part of the SA Badminton Association (SABA) their policies apply to GBC. SABA policies are available here

Glenelg Badminton Club Constitution 2017


Senior Competition

Glenelg has teams in all grades of SABA competition. You must become a member of the club to be eligible for inclusion in a team.

"State League" and "A" grade play on Tuesday night.
"B" and "C" grades play on Wednesday night.

Junior Competition

Various junior competitions are run each year by the SA Badminton Association. Glenelg Badminton Club also arranges inter-club competitions with other local junior badminton clubs.

Club Championships

The Glenelg Club Championships are held every year in late August early September on a Sunday. A senior open tournament and a junior tournament are held simultaneously. The Social championships are held in October during normal Monday club night.


MENS SINGLES - Winner: Harris Ko. Runner Up: Suraj Kumar
LADIES SINGLES - Winner: Aim Aroonsiri. Runner up Anna Nguon
MENS DOUBLES - Winners: James Abraham/Kym Lau. Runners Up: Gert Goesaert/ Harris Ko
LADIES DOUBLES Ė Winners: Aim Aroonsiri/ Anna Nguon. Runners Up: Supattra Hom-on/ Serena Pham
MIXED DOUBLES - Winners: Jason Dow/ Aim Aroonsiri. Runners Up: Gert Goesaert/ Anna Nguon


BOYS SINGLES - Winner: Umer Abro. Runner Up: David Joseph.
GIRLS SINGLES - Winner: Sinoeun Yin. Runner Up: Matilda Todoran
DOUBLES - Winners: Matilda Todoran (various partners). Runners Up: David Joseph & Sinoeon Yin


Ladies winner: Anna Nguon. Runner Up: Serena Pham
Menís winner: Jamie Deans. Runner Up: Ranga Niroshana

Special Awards

Shannon Riggs Achievers Award

This award was established in memory of Shannon Riggs who passed away on the 23rd July 1997. Shannon was a member of the club and played in one of our teams in SABA competition. The award is given annually to a member of the Glenelg Badminton Club (with preference given to juniors) who, in the opinion of the committee, in consultation with the Riggs family, deserves special recognition for their efforts and achievements in badminton. The award is presented at the clubís AGM, in the form of a perpetual trophy. This award is to recognise the recipientís commitment to achieving their best, with consideration for those around them, and as a tribute to Shannonís positive impact on people.


Simon White (1997), Matt Jones (1998), Amy Allman (1999), Glenn Thomas (2000), Helen White (2001), Craig Markham (2002), Daniel Victory (2003), Rhett Aviet (2004), Peter Stephens (2005), Aruna Shivam (2006), Anita Wong (2007), Daniel Blue (2008), Mingmei Teo (2009), Alex Awwad (2010), Simon Packard (2011), Alex Awwad (2012), Sam Todd (2013), Joseph Awwad (2014), Rachel Nguon (2015), Anna Nguon (2016),Gavin Maynard (2017), Sinoeun Yin (2018).

The David Currie Club Award

This award was created by David's family in Scotland through Cathy, his wife, in memory of David Currie, a club member whose dedication and commitment to our club was outstanding. The recipient of this award should be someone in a similar mould, not necessarily the best player but someone who is interested in promoting the Club and Badminton.


Edna Bannister (1988), Robert Riggs (1989), Glen McPherson (1990), Jeff Green (1991), Adam Russell (1992), Jim Deans (1993), Robert Riggs (1994), Jeff Green (1995), Robert Riggs (1996), Malcolm Wainright (1997), Jeff Green (1998), Jeff Green (1999), Robert Riggs (2000), Robert Riggs (2001), Carol Packard (2002), Kym Lau (2003), Simon Oaten (2004), Kym Lau (2005), Simon White (2006), Kym Lau (2007), Robert Riggs (2008), Carol Packard (2009), Kym Lau (2010), Carol Packard (2011), Simon Oaten (2012), Carol Packard (2013), Nigel Isherwood (2014), Carol Packard (2015), Kym Lau (2016), Kim Doung (2017), Kim Doung (2018).

Most Improved

This award is decided by the Committee and seeks to identify players that have improved as players and developed within the Club.


Simon Packard (2007), John Ly (2008), Kim Doung (2009), Mitchell Davis (2010), Nigel Isherwood (2011), Simon Packard (2012), Nitya Gunasegaran (2013), David Harvey (2014), Tristan Edison (2015), Aim Aroonsiri (2016), Thomas Young (2017), Jacky Ou (2018 Senior), Dylan Huang (2018 Junior).